Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
Living Here Banner


Council to submit list of projects for Black Spot Program funding approval

25 June 2020

Eighteen of the region’s identified black spots will be submitted for improved road safety assessment through Federal Government funding after a unanimous vote by the Southern Downs Regional Council at yesterday’s General Meeting.

Council’s submission includes more than $1m of proposed safety upgrades and improvements to dangerous roads and intersections to reduce road fatalities.

Southern Downs Mayor Vic Pennisi said that Council would submit a list of projects of the region’s most notorious black spots as part of its commitment to improve road safety on the Southern Downs.

“While road safety is everyone’s responsibility, Council is committed to building better, safer roads across our region for all road users, whether they are locals or visitors who travel here to enjoy everything that our unique locality has to offer,” Mayor Pennisi said.

“By identifying known sites of concern and fixing these through Government support, we hope to reduce serious injury and help ensure everyone on our roads reaches their destination safely.

“Upgrades of these identified road sites on the Southern Downs creates jobs for locals through construction and industry contracts, and Council is all about the means to support our community and regional economy.

“On the back of drought, bushfire and COVID-19, there has never been a more important time to seek available Government funding that will fuel our region to be viable, sustainable and safe for everyone who travels on our roads.

“We are on the road to building a better map for locals and visitors to our region.”

Under its funding criteria, the Government classifies black spots as either reactive or proactive: reactive sites are roads or intersections which have a crash history and proactive sites are ones considered potentially hazardous.  Council has submitted potential projects in both categories.

Black spot projects which meet the funding criteria include safety works such as improving sight distances, improving curves, removing road side hazards, increasing safety at intersections and providing protection to pedestrians.

Council’s list of projects will need to be submitted and approved by the Federal Government before any works can commence.

The Federal Government Black Spot Program is funded through the Department of Transport and Main Roads.

Council’s black spot submissions

1. Washpool Road (between Saddle Dam and Glenvale Roads), Leslie Dam

2. Palmerin Street, Warwick

3. Guy Street, Warwick

4. Junabee Road

5. Nundubbermere Road Floodway

6. Acacia Avenue & Percy Street, Warwick

7. Bisley Street & Baguley Street, Warwick

8. Jackie Howe Drive & Churchill Drive & Coe Street, Warwick

9. Churchill Drive & Marshall Street, Warwick

10. Bracker Road & Tooth Street & Mardon Street, Warwick

11. Willow Street & Acacia Street, Killarney

12. Merivale Street & Hillside Road & Allora Clifton Road, Allora

13. Wolfram Street & Granite Street, Stanthorpe

14. Bridge Street & Day Street & Symes Street, Stanthorpe

15. Freestone Road & Lowe Road, Clintonvale

16. Mardon Road & Inverleigh Road, Rosenthal Heights

17. Yankee Gully Road

18. Matthew Street, Stanthorpe

Related Items