House in Killarney
New South Wales border
Crossing from NSW
Originally part of Canning Downs, established by the Leslie brothers in 1840, the development of the town was largely based on primary production and forestry.
The South Killarney town site was first surveyed in 1878, but the town already boasted several shops and services by this time. Many early settlers to Queensland selected land in the Killarney area with the first of these arriving in 1863. During the 1880s Killarney was described as “one of the most flourishing towns in Southern Queensland”.
A branch railway was built from Warwick in 1885. The line closed in 1964.
The town was hit by a destructive tornado on Saturday 23 November 1968, which destroyed many of the original buildings. Of those remaining, the Butter Factory, the Co-op Building, MacKenzie’s Store (now St Vinnies), the former National bank (opposite the park), former Commercial Bank (opposite the Post Office), the Post Office and the Killarney Hotel hint at its former glory
Killarney is located 35 kilometres south-east of Warwick, on the Condamine River. Killarney is located about 8 kilometres from the Queensland/New South Wales border. It is close to Queen Mary Falls, in the Main Range National Park, where Spring Creek plunges 40 m into the valley.
The name of the town is said to be a result of the area's strong visual resemblance to that of Killarney in County Kerry, a region of south-western Ireland.
Killarney is the scenic gem of the Eastern Southern Downs and is nestled in the Border Ranges between Queensland and New South Wales. The rolling foothills, deep secluded valleys and dramatic waterfalls of the Great Dividing Range provide breath taking views.