The region is full of surprises with many sites to visit and enjoy.
Leslie Dam and Connolly Dam
Leslie Dam is situated 13km west of Warwick along the Cunningham Highway on the road to Goondiwindi.
Regular restocking of freshwater fish is carried out by the Department of Primary Industry and local restocking groups.
BBQ's, picnic shelters, and toilets available. Swimming, camping and boating activities permitted. Camping available at the Washpool Reserve.
Connolly Dam is situated approximately 15km south east of Warwick off the New England Highway. Shore fishing is available to the general public and there are toilets available, however camping and powered boats are not permitted.
Storm King Dam
Storm King dam is located on Eukey Road Storm King, Stanthorpe. It has some nice facilities such as BBQs, shelters, toilets and play equipment. You can enjoy some fishing, swimming and boating (you will need a boat permit (PDF 22.4KB) to use a boat on the dam).
There are hundreds of parks to visit in the Southern Downs. Many Council parks have state of the art playgrounds, river walks, beautiful gardens and top class facilities.
The National Parks of the area offer unprecedented panoramic views as well as hidden gems such as the Queen Mary Falls or the Browns Falls in Killarney. The parks are a delight to nature lovers and bush walkers.
Granite Belt Nature and Adventure Guide
It’s time to get outdoors! The Granite Belt Nature and Adventure Guide shows you how to truly experience all the region has to offer.
Developed in response to consumer demand, the Nature and Adventure Guide outlines a myriad of activities from climbing The Pyramid at Girraween National Park, 4WDriving through the amazing Sundown National Park, being mesmerised by waterfalls, catching an elusive Murray Cod, viewing stunning wildflowers, to cycling country lanes.
View the Granite Belt Nature and Adventure Guide
Stanthorpe Post Office
Built in 1901, Stanthorpe has a Federation legacy in its Post Office, built with locally manufactured bricks and local granite foundations. It was erected in 1901 when the new Commonwealth Government took over management of the postal and telegraph services.
The illuminated clock, which came from England, was installed in 1903. The architect was JS Murdoch, the first Australian Commonwealth Government architect.
The Post Office was built by D Stewart & Co at a cost of £2848. It is built on the site of Groom’s Hotel, which in 1874 housed the telegraph office.
To the north of the town on the New England Highway are the soldier settlements which were established after World War 1. They were named after famous World War 1 battlefields so that, as the old railway signs at the Stanthorpe Museum indicate, there were once railway stations at Amiens, Messines, Bapaume, Passchendaele, Bullecourt, Pozieres and Fleurbaix.
Places which must have seemed strange to diggers who, after spending months in the mud and filth of the western front, were now to be called home in southern Queensland.
Stanthorpe Soldiers Memorial
This 1.47 hectare parkland on Foxton Hill was purchased from Mr E. R. Hopper at a Memorial Committee meeting on the 22 June 1921.
The memorial was designed to be a community rest house for relatives of fallen soldiers to sit comfortably and view the town and surrounding countryside in quiet contemplation.
The land and site was chosen for its availability and elevated position. The Governor of Queensland, Sir Mathew Nathan, unveiled tablets for the memorial on 30 July 1925 and work began on the site later that same year. The soldier’s memorial was officially opened on 6 February 1926 by then governor Sir William Glasgow.
Accessible from Lock Street, this landmark was once visible from many parts of the township, although the site is now blocked from view by the surrounding regrowth.
Vineyards and Wineries
Stanthorpe is the centre of a thriving wine area. From Cottonvale in the north to Wyberba (south of Ballandean) there are over 20 vineyards and wineries.
Because of the latitude (it is only a few hundred kilometres south of the Tropic of Capricorn) the area around Stanthorpe boasts the highest altitude vineyards in Australia. This unique microclimate has seen grapes grown in the area since the 1870s.
For more information on local wineries, please visit the Granite Belt Wine Country website - http://www.granitebeltwinecountry.com.au
Wallangarra Railway Station
Inter-colonial rivalries between Queensland and New South Wales continued in the latter part of the nineteenth century and the Colonial governments were unable to agree on a standard gauge for the railway line between Queensland and New South Wales. Queensland’s line was built with 3’6” gauge and the New South Wales line with 4’8.5” gauge.
Queensland insisted on Wallangarra as the break-of-gauge point, which resulted in Wallangarra becoming a major freight centre and the change over point for passengers at the border crossing. The differences between the two colonies is also evidenced in different styles of architecture in the building - the platform on the Queensland side boasts a bull-nose roof, whilst the platform on the NSW side has a flat roofline.
The railway operated from 1888-1930 and served as the most important border crossing between Qld and NSW. The station itself underwent renovations in October 2001, with the inclusion of a Heritage Centre. The station now maintains its function as a historic display and function centre, showcasing our district's history since federation in 1901.
Warwick Rose Gardens and Rodeo Award Plaques
At the corner of Alice and Albion Streets in the Queen Elizabeth II Rose Gardens, the commemorative plaques for the yearly winners of the Rodeo Awards are displayed. Picnic tables available.
Warwick Pig & Calf Sales - Wednesdays
All the spirit and personality of the country is jammed into the weekly Pig and Calf Market, held each Wednesday at the corner of Fitzroy and Lyons Streets.
This is the longest continually operated market in Queensland, offering much more than livestock. A paradise for trash and treasure hunters, the jumble style auction has everything from guinea pigs to goats, farm equipment to furniture and some very serious bric-a-brac.
Warwick Green Belt
Following the Condamine River and encircling the town is the Warwick Greenbelt – a natural corridor of open space with sealed tracks for walkers and bikers, historical trails and shady picnic spots.
A giant sculpture of Tiddalik the Frog is the mascot of the Greenbelt and stands proudly by the banks of the Condamine. Creating Tiddalik from a 15 tonne granite boulder required 400 hours of gruelling sculpting and 800 painstaking hours of finishing and polishing. Tiddalik was inspired by the Aboriginal dreamtime legend about a frog who drank all the water and caused a drought. Visit Tiddalik and Platypus while you are in Warwick, learn more of the legend and give him a rub to discover his stunning surface colours.